Oscars 2014: ’12 Years a Slave’ Wins Best Picture

Chiwetel Ejiofor


12 Years a Slave‘ won Best Picture at the 2014 Academy Awards on Sunday (March 2nd.). The powerful movie beat “American Hustle”, “Captain Phillips”, “Dallas Buyers Club”, “Gravity”, “Her”, “Nebraska”, “Philomena”, and “The Wolf of Wall Street” for the coveted gold statue. I think everyone is happy with the win.

Chiwetel Ejiofor lost Best Actor to Matthew McConaughey, but co-star Lupita Nyong’o won Best Supporting Actress for her role as slave Patsy.

Director Steve McQueen also lost Best Director to Alfonso Quaron (‘Gravity‘ won a total of seven Oscars) but he seemed overjoyed with ’12 Years a Slave’ winning Best Picture this year.

The emotional movie also won Best Adapted Screenplay.

Brad Pitt, who was the producer of the movie, won his first Oscar on this occasion. He looked super proud during the acceptance speech.

McQueen offered the best part during the acceptance speech. He ended with “Everyone deserves not just to survive but to live. This is the most important legacy of Solomon Northup. I dedicate this award to all of the people who have endured slavery and the 21 million people who still suffer slavery today.”


Chiwetel Ejiofor, Brad Pitt, Steve McQueen Chiwetel Ejiofor, Lupita Nyong'o Lupita Nyong'o, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Steve McQueen, Sarah Paulson, and Michael Fassbender

What do you think of ’12 Years a Slave’ winning Best Picture?

Follow TheGossipBlog on Twitter!

Like us on Facebook!

Previous ArticleNext Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend